Why do we require an application?

Our application process is in response to two of the most common questions our Riders have prior to booking a trip with us:

1) Am I skilled/fit enough to participate in this Ride?
2) Will the other people on my Ride be skilled/fit enough?

Ensuring that you - and the other Riders on your Ride - are a good fit for the Ride selected is of paramount importance to us. We want to help you pick the Ride that's perfect for you, and ensure that everyone booked on a Ride is on the right Ride for them. That's why we want to know a bit more about you - your mountain biking history, where you ride, how often, etc... - before we take your money.

We review every application and if, based on your responses, we think you're a good fit, we'll approve your application and you'll receive a link to place a deposit. If we think you might not be a good fit (either too skilled or not skilled enough for the Ride you chose), then we'll give you a call to discuss your preferences in greater detail.

Please note: our application process isn't about excluding anyone, or making anyone feel like they're not 'good enough' to participate in one of our Rides. It's about ensuring that you end up on the right Ride for you, with people of similar skill, fitness and riding preferences. In the end this ends up being a much better experience for everyone.

Ride down from the highest point in the Adelaide hills, and let gravity do most of the work!

Ride from the summit of Mount Lofty on mountain bikes all the way down to Adelaide, though stunning native bush.  On this variation of the ride we will focus on a longer ride, to find some of the best trails in the area. A few climbs may be required! 

 

IS THIS RIDE FOR YOU?

Intermediate level mountain biker. We will find a few hills along the way, and ride some more challenging/steeper trails on the way down.

  • MTB SKILL RATING

    4/9

    Level 4/Intermediate

    • You have good general trail riding skills
    • You're capable of controlling bike speed and direction on moderate singletrack.
    • You ride at least 2-3 times/month during riding season.

    Click here for more information on skill and fitness ratings

    Level 4/Intermediate

    • You have good general trail riding skills
    • You're capable of controlling bike speed and direction on moderate singletrack.
    • You ride at least 2-3 times/month during riding season.

    Click here for more information on skill and fitness ratings

  • Price AUD | CAD | USD | EUR

    $159 AUD
  • FITNESS RATING

    3/9

    Level 3

    • You are capable of riding 1-2 hours a day at a relaxed pace with several breaks.
    • You can handle one or two easy climbs of up to 150 vertical metres (330 ft.) total.
    • You exercise on average 1-2 hours per week (including riding/being active).

    click here for more information on skill and fitness ratings

    Level 3

    • You are capable of riding 1-2 hours a day at a relaxed pace with several breaks.
    • You can handle one or two easy climbs of up to 150 vertical metres (330 ft.) total.
    • You exercise on average 1-2 hours per week (including riding/being active).

    click here for more information on skill and fitness ratings

  • DURATION

    1 day
  • DATES

    All yearSEE ALL DATES
  • CULTURE LEVEL

    Familiar

    Level Familiar

    • On our Familiar trips, Riders from Western countries/cultures will generally experience familiar languages and cultures, and experiences that are generally familiar.
    • While the riding and activities themselves may be quite adventurous and/or challenge you, you'll still find the overall environment quite familiar if you come from a 'developed' country.
    • If you're looking for something a little more exotic, check out our 'Adventurous' and 'Out There' Rides.

    Level Familiar

    • On our Familiar trips, Riders from Western countries/cultures will generally experience familiar languages and cultures, and experiences that are generally familiar.
    • While the riding and activities themselves may be quite adventurous and/or challenge you, you'll still find the overall environment quite familiar if you come from a 'developed' country.
    • If you're looking for something a little more exotic, check out our 'Adventurous' and 'Out There' Rides.

Day 1 : Half day trip- 9am to 2pm

We will pick you up in Central Adelaide and transport you to the summit of Mount Lofty, which at 710m is the highest point in the Mount Lofty Ranges, and offers stunning views of Adelaide, the Adelaide hills, and the plains below. From here it is downhill all the way back to Adelaide.

On this ride we will head out along the varied trails towards Crafers. We may head into Eagle MTB park for a play on the XC and DH race tracks there, or stay in Cleland and ride the trails used for the Australian Gravity Enduro championship- we have loads of options.

We will most likely finish with a descent down the Pioneer Women's trail back into Suburban Adelaide.

After about 18km we drop out into the suburbs of Adelaide, and we then have a final spin along some quiet backstreets where you will see some lovely houses and suburban parks. Finally we will pop out into the Adelaide parklands at Victoria Park, where we get a great view back up to the summit of Mount Lofty, were we started 3 hours and 25km ago!
  • transport from city to summit
  • Full guiding from local guide

Below you will find a comprehensive list of information about this Ride and destination.

We’ve Got You Covered +

GETTING THERE AND BACK +

Getting The Most Out of Your Trip +

BIKE AND GEAR INFO AND PACKING LIST +

Destination information +

Important Stuff +

Name Bio

Ian Fehler
Ian has been working as a MTB guide and skills instructor for over 10 years, both in the Alps and Europe, and in Adelaide.
  • , , , , , , , ,
Below you will find some of the videos for this Ride. Please keep in mind that some of these videos may have been recorded by our guides and the speeds they are riding at aren't necessarily indicative of the speeds you'll be riding at!
FLOW ride Eagle MTB park

Please note that the following data represents a typical itinerary, and unfortunately there is no such thing as a typical itinerary. Weather issues, road closures, changes to the itinerary to accommodate requests, and other issues may affect the itinerary, so the data below represents an 'average' itinerary, and may differ when you actually show up to ride your bike! Our guides make every effort to stick to the itinerary as posted, though :)

Day Hours of Riding Distance ridden Elevation gained Elevation lost Highest elevation
1 3.5 hours 25 km 200 m 700 m 720 m
Totals 3.5 hours 25 km 200 m 700 m 720 m


Below you will find the start and end dates as well as pickup locations for departures of this Ride. To book a spot on this Ride, click on the 'Book Now' link to book your spot.

This Getaways destination is not accepting bookings just yet. Please send a message via the Contact Us form if you would like to be notified when Rides are ready for booking.

Dates Duration Starting Point Starting Time Ending Point End Time Price Currency Booking Availability
Saturday, September 2, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Monday, September 4, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Thursday, September 7, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Monday, September 11, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Saturday, September 16, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Monday, September 18, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Monday, September 25, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Thursday, September 28, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Saturday, September 30, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Monday, October 2, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Thursday, October 5, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Saturday, October 7, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Monday, October 9, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Thursday, October 12, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Saturday, October 14, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Monday, October 16, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Thursday, October 19, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Thursday, October 26, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Saturday, October 28, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Monday, October 30, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Thursday, November 2, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Saturday, November 4, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Monday, November 6, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Thursday, November 9, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Thursday, November 16, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Saturday, November 18, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Monday, November 20, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Thursday, November 23, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Saturday, November 25, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Monday, November 27, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Thursday, November 30, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Saturday, December 2, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Monday, December 4, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Thursday, December 7, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Saturday, December 9, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Monday, December 11, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Thursday, December 14, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Saturday, December 16, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Monday, December 18, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Thursday, December 21, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Saturday, December 23, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Thursday, December 28, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Saturday, December 30, 2017 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Thursday, January 4, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Saturday, January 6, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Monday, January 8, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Thursday, January 11, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Saturday, January 13, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Monday, January 15, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Thursday, January 18, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Saturday, January 20, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Monday, January 22, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Thursday, January 25, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Saturday, January 27, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Monday, January 29, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Thursday, February 1, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Saturday, February 3, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Monday, February 5, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Thursday, February 8, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Saturday, February 10, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Monday, February 12, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Thursday, February 15, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Saturday, February 17, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Monday, February 19, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Thursday, February 22, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Saturday, February 24, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Monday, February 26, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Thursday, March 1, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Saturday, March 3, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Monday, March 5, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Thursday, March 8, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Saturday, March 10, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Monday, March 12, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Thursday, March 15, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Saturday, March 17, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Monday, March 19, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Thursday, March 22, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Saturday, March 24, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Monday, March 26, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Thursday, March 29, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
Saturday, March 31, 2018 1 Day(s) Adelaide City 9:00am Adelaide City 1:00pm 159.00 AUD Book Now! Guaranteed
"#1 MOUNTAIN BIKE TOUR COMPANY ON EARTH"

National Geographic Adventure

"BEST MOUNTAIN BIKE OUTFITTER"

-OUTSIDE MAGAZINE 2014